Artistry, Alchemy & Adventures …

This is my first blog here since my other creative blogs spanning January 2008-June 2013 disappeared into the aether courtesy of myspace! They have still not reappeared … what a shame because even though I have copies of many of them I don’t have them all. There is a lesson here. If anyone out there has any of them please, please send them to me …

There has been all of the above (Artistry, alchemy and Adventures) recently … Artistry in the shape of ‘Another Time Another Place’ performed by my group of Year Six students from The C.of E. Bluecoat School in Walsall. Our day at Wolverhampton Art Gallery on July 3rd complete with an exhibition, book and DVD as well as a very appreciative audience and lovely lunch was extremely well received.

The ‘Reds’ press call in and around Birmingham on 16th July made the BBC Midlands Today twice and there are some great photos … and as it is now almost a month since I began this draft, I am waiting to perform ‘Reds’ again this weekend in Birmingham as part of ‘The Four Squares Weekender Festival’. I look forward to it. My new ‘Red’ Hairdresser character is coming along well. She even has a new red bob wig.

Alchemy for me exists on a daily basis; whether it is in the scent of honeysuckle and roses in my garden, the ebb and flow of energies of friends that I see, the creative work that I do or even in the smell of horses and their tack. Today I have been out with Henry (horse). It was so lovely to meander around the lanes and bridle paths in the sunshine. I saw dragonflies, trout and rabbits, all wild and free. He didn’t put a foot wrong but didn’t like the noise and sight of the yellow digger near the railway bridge. I spent the evening with my friend Linda and her son Leo to edit, tweak and generally sort various items on my computer. We had a very productive evening and there is some fantastic filmic work to post soon.

I have had many adventures since my last blog post and the disappearance of the other blogs from myspace on June 12th. I am not quite sure that I can quite capture all of the last two-to-three months here just now but at at least I have started. My trip to Colombes and Paris in August has been a highlight. We ‘did’ Paris, Jane, my friend and I and her two teenage daughters. They also continued down South near to Bordeaux whilst I did Paris on my own via flea markets for ‘Red’ costume, Tango in The Luxembourg Gardens on a Sunday afternoon, Le Marais for browsing rich things, ‘Paris Plages’ along The Seine for reading some of the numerous books that I had loaned from Colombes library, visits to at least two of the places (St. Michel, Rue St. Jacques and 75006 Rue Stanislas ) where I had lived  … What else:- Pain du chocolate, brioche, du cafe, couscous, Cergy-Pontoise, Pontoise, La Tour Eiffel, Sacre Coeur, Pere Lachaise cemetery, lovely Nair and her sister, Gilbert from ‘Betty Books’, Frederic and Jean-Marc in the library and much more as well as lots of sunshine …

Too tired now so must zzzz

xxxXxxx

Published by janiedsut

I create and perform visual, physical theatre exploring contemporary issues and archetypal themes. I offer workshops and residencies to accompany performance work.

One thought on “Artistry, Alchemy & Adventures …

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.